Skip to content

Untitled

August 19, 2014

On the day I met a painting I couldn’t take home.

I was way too self aware to call it love
I wasn’t sure if it was meant to be admired or taken home
wasn’t sure if i was worthy of either
artists are cruel people
most aren’t even alive to answer for their actions
ill leave the gallery if you leave my head
 
…sold at Christies for 1.5
with a signature on the bottom right corner that turned life
into an endless boulevard of green lights and care free smirks
And on that day, I had 209 dollars in an interest baring account 
that showed no interest in having my back
 
I’m trying to make a good impression here
 
But I had no business in a museum
on this floor
snuck in through the service elevator
service was all i knew, and art
had always seemed like it was for people who had run out of bills to pay
but you
looked back at me as if to say 
today has nothing to do with class
 
im not here to judge
just be nice with your eyes
and calm with your thoughts
we can hang out here for as long as you’d like…
 
but maybe that day, I didn’t feel like being forgiven
maybe I wear my scars the way you wear your oil cracking
maybe i deserve to be the sum of my parts too
I don’t like forgetting my footsteps, I’m scared I won’t know the way home
if I get lost in your world of champagne and raw silk
 
I’m eventually gonna have to go home
and I’d hate for my mother to think I no longer have humble taste buds
 
On the day I met you…I tried to hide my scarred knuckles by never letting go of your waist
I took you to the beach because it was free, and people go there on purpose.
 
I have never met your father
But I assume he wears a hat
Tilted forward
Tilted in a way that says ‘she’s too good for you’
And I left my hat in the car, to make a good impression, but I assume it would nod in agreement
 
How do you pair a girl who wants to end the worlds hunger with a kid who remembers his own
I think it’s great that you know which countries you wanna save first
But I know the names of the people I would save, I’m saving up to save them now.
 
I don’t know which fork is for salad, and which is for shrimp
and to be honest I’ve lost my appetite
every ones glair feels like a cyclone of mirrors and i didn’t come here to be surrounded my myself
not only do i not know the answer…i don’t understand the question.
and i didn’t come here to want to be somewhere else, 
i can do that at home…
your frame alone…is too solid a foundation
for a crooked house boy like me
but i appreciate you being so nice to me, 
 
from your side of the rope.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
No comments yet

Leave a comment