Skip to content

Burton love poem

October 3, 2012

Gift wrap my sins for me

Leave them on the dresser before you go
I’d like something to remember you by
Aside from the scent you left on my pillows
I always find you
Damaged always wants damaged
Scars always find scars
And the broken always find beauty in the broken
Maybe I thought we’d fill in each others blanks
Maybe chaos crashing into chaos sounds like love when it echoes 
 
Maybe when it’s all over
You remember me different 
Edit out all the screaming
Maybe you exaggerate my kindness
Make up a few moments that never happened 
And ignore my bladed smile
 
Consistent is redundant depending on whether or not you’re bored yet 
And those like us see the beauty in the striking of match heads
As the flames swallow everything whole
 
Sometimes run through the house
Breaking the china  and drawing faces on the art
Just to break the silence
 
Sometimes we earthquake 
Just to remember what shaking feels like
We wonder if it is odd we find this beautiful
The symphony of you’re crying 
The warmth of my jealousy 
We’ve made a home here
In the rubble.
 
Those who pry us apart 
Are unprepared for their journey
Don’t understand the pretty in our war games
Think they’re ready
For your falling timber
But no one plays wreckage like us
No one enjoys the scars like us
Staring at them like honeymoon pictures
So here 
Look through my phone
Catch me staring
No one makes banchi screams as melodic as yours
Burn the house down 
Hate me as I play alpha male
Break vases as I conquistador 
Shake apart everything
Because I haven’t felt chaos in weeks
And  I miss the warmth
The assurance that we still feel anything at all
 
 
So In the event of our pre marital divorce 
I give you half my sanity 
Drunken texts of regret
And an apartment behind my 4th rib
That you can use as a vacation home
Whenever you’re bored of the silence.
No comments yet

Leave a comment