Skip to content

cringe.

November 26, 2009

Its a lot harder waking up, when you sin this often.

Its like the sun, sneaks through the blinds

And holds you down at the chest

But my uncle A used to always say

Every morning was a victory

But see my uncle A was a dreamer…

…just like me

And my mother could see his goals in my eyes

And it scares her to death

See he wanted it all, and he wanted it now

And he would do anything

For everything…

Cause my uncle A used to always say

those who die with the most stuff win.

See he, used to put tomorrow on a pedestal

Tomorrow was his big break

Tomorrow was when things would finally start happening

Tomorrow was his savior from todays too heavy to let u jump towards heaven

But tomorrow never came

And my mother used to say, if you live for tomorrow, you will always be a day early

If every morning is a victory, then today you should celebrate

Remember where your feet are planted, your shoes are on today’s ground

Heavy at the roots, swaying with the wind, reaching up towards god

Today is your most recent accomplishment

And tomorrow will get here when it gets here

 

They would often go back and forth…brother and sister.

Logic versus rebel

Battling over what morals I would grow up to adopt

 

In his early twenties when people asked my uncle A what he did for a living

He’d say he was an actor, cause that’s what he did for a living

By his late twenties to early thirties, when people asked him what he did for a living

He’d say he was an actor, cause addict didn’t go over to well…

See my uncle A was a dreamer, just like me

And my mom could see his goals in my eyes and it scares her to death

He loved many, and had good intentions, but you cant cash good intentions and the words, “I need a loan”, eventually took an honest turn in to, “I need some money”

A couple of times after picking me up from school, he’d take me a long on a pick up.

That night him and my mom would argue, I didn’t know why…

He just said we were going to the store…but the store looked like a broken down house

And the guy he was buying from looked like….well the devil.

So before every night I’d drink a tall glass of yelling and thrown objects

I’d cover myself with a blanket of issues I would develop later in my life

I would tell them both I love you and goodnight, in a tone that sounded a bit like, you can yell but if you touch my mother…I will kill you.

My uncle A used to always say love less and live long…

But you falling in love with your daily hit, caused more damage then any woman scorn

You virus you…

We finally moved away…my mother always felt guilty

But those who don’t want to help them selves always speak volumes about tomorrow

As if god is gonna come down and live your life for you…

 

My uncle A used to always say…a lot of bull shit

I too am and will always be a dreamer, but my today will always be yesterdays dream come true

This morning was my victory and tonight as my celebration

And I have learned enough from my mother to know…there is nothing wrong with dreaming…just don’t forget to wake up.

One Comment leave one →
  1. brittanybeige permalink
    December 10, 2009 5:57 am

    beautifully real

Leave a comment